Difficulties of International Teaching | China Edition


At the moment my students are eating lunch and I am listening to PJ Morton “Good Days Bad Days”.  Take a listen below, trust me it’s a GREAT song! 🙂

This song can totally relate to the life an International Educator.  I know that this song relates to me as a first year International Educator.

Today I will discuss how children treat their ayi.

Ayi (阿姨) literally means aunt, but when we speak of ayi in China it means woman who is the housekeeper, cook, and/or nanny.

Sometimes I just sit back and watch students and how they interact with their ayi and it’s just amazing!

  • with some children, they have less respect for their ayi.  The ayi is the person that takes them to school, cooks their food, washes their clothes.  This almost sounds like a parent, but she isn’t.

I’m doing to give you an example: Right now the school ayi came to clean up after lunch.  One of my students in sitting at the table and the ayi come to his side to wipe the table.  I watch and listen as she tells him, in Chinese, to lift up his paper.  This child does not move. This child did NOT even look at her. She had to repeat herself three times for him to obey.  Of course I had to stop the entire situation and talk to him about being obedient and then I walked with him to the hallway so that he could apologize for his disobedience.

I know that this is a cultural issue, but I also choose to make this a teaching point with my students on being mannerable and kind to others.  It really makes me sad at times to see these women be treated like this.

So as a teacher I will continue to do what I love to do…teach! I will show my students how to treat their ayi with love and kindness.

__

Mz Hunter Teaches

FB Pages: I Live. I Love. I Teach!
Instagram: @mzhunterteaches
Twitter: @mzhunterteaches
YouTube: Miss M. Hunter
Periscope|Blab: @mzhunterteaches
Email: missmarla.hunter@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

