My Life as an International Educator


When I first told people that I was moving to China to teach I got lots of questions.

  • why?
  • do you speak chinese?
  • you’re going to move so far away?
  • if you move, when do you plan on getting married?

There were more questions, but I just can’t remember them.

Well it’s Tuesday, September 3, 2015 and I’ve been in China for 2 months now.  I’m located in Shenzhen, China and it’s quite nice.  Shenzhen is an expat city and I’m able to get a lot of things here that I’m able to get at home.

Now, teaching at an international school can be compared to teaching in The States at a school that has a large population of international students who may or may not speak english and the program is all inclusion with some pull-out.

Let me say this now.  I am an International Educator.  This means that I do not teach English or ESL (Enlish as a second language).  To be able to work at an International School on must  have a teachers certificate from the US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, or South Africa. This is due to the fact that the host country will often not grant a work permit to the teacher without a teaching certificate. If that’s you TIE Online has a great post about “Teaching Overseas: Are you Qualified?

One exciting thing about teaching overseas is the many contacts that are made. Within the last month I’ve made more contacts than I have in the 10 years teaching in The States.  The contacts have been with other teachers at other international schools, principals/directors/CEO’s of international schools, and other international organizations that have schools and TEFL schools.

One connection that was made was with Mark Johnson of ICAL TEFL Courses & Resources. Mark found my blog and saw that I was teaching overseas.  He reached out to me and asked me if I would take the time to answer a few questions about international teaching and I did. The post, “English teachers located around the world give their insight into TEFL“, looks at 11 teachers and “asked them to provide an insight into their experiences, and also asked them for one piece of advice they wish they had known when they first started out.”  My excerpt is #8 in the post. I was so excited to be part of this piece!

Again, thank you Mark for asking me to be one of the 11 other International Teachers to help others understand the world of being an International Educator.

Below you find a link to the post, click on the picture and it will take you right there.  Please take the time to read it.  Especially #8. *wink*

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 7.53.13 PM

__

Mz Hunter Teaches

FB Pages: I Live. I Love. I Teach!
Instagram: @mzhunterteaches
Twitter: @mzhunterteaches
YouTube: Miss M. Hunter
Periscope|Blab: @mzhunterteaches
Email: missmarla.hunter@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

