A Letter to My 2010/2011 3rd Grade Class


This evening made a wonderful night in my teaching career.

Let me first say that as teachers/educator we all have that moment when we want to quit or just stay in bed for a day, week, month, or even an entire school year.  At this moment I am going through my own battles, BUT today I received a Facebook request from a previous student.

Hailey, I had her the second year that I taught 3rd grade.  This was 2010/2011 SY…this was also the year that I got to teach my 1st year Kindergarten students. I was SOOOOOO excited.

ANYWAY, Hailey inboxed me and started to tell me how she miss me.  I then received the following to my page….

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This school year I’ve cried, but not because from what a child has told me.  Hailey is in the 6th grade and is doing VERY well.  I remember how she struggled with me, but I refused to let her give up!

So this goes out to my 2nd year 3rd graders now 6th graders…

My dearest Shining Stars,

I just want to say that I am VERY VERY proud of each of you!  I can’t believe that you all will be going to high school very soon.  I pray that you all take to heart what it is that I taught you in 3rd grade, “that you can do ANYTHING that you set you mind to do”.

I will not make this letter long, but I just want you to know that I have not forgotten about any of you!  At this moment I am looking at one of the many videos that we made in class…a few that I still need to finish! 🙂

Again, please remember that I love each and every one of you. Oh! Don’t forget to use the UNRAAVEL in Math and Reading.

Hugs and kisses,

Miss Hunter

p.s. Below is one of our FIRST videos we made….ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

