A Christmas Surprise


Over the holiday I decided to take a break from blogging.  I don’t know why, but I REALLY and TRUELY missed not writing.  Not only did I miss the writing I missed some comments that were made.

Two days after Christmas I was checking my email and saw that I received a comment from a fellow blogger and someone who is following my blog Storm Rider.  This is what he wrote “Hey heres another award!! : ) : )  I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! : ) It actually says ‘I Totally Love and Enjoy your Blog!’ : )”

The Liebster Blog Award

I began to cry.

When I went to his site…it wasn’t just one, but TWO awards!!

The Versatile Blog Award

I cried some more.

I didn’t know that people ACTUALLY were reading what I wrote! Not only that, but LIKED/LOVED it! So…thank you Storm Rider for helping to make my year!

*clears throat* Now for the task at hand.

With this award come responsibility…and here it goes!!

The Liebster Blog Award

Liebster is a German word which means beloved or favorite. This is an Award given by fellow bloggers to other blogs with less than 200 followers.

This award is a mark of appreciation an acknowledgement that you are remembered. It means you are SPECIAL, you are LOVED. It means your blog reaches out and touches the heart and souls of others.

AWARD REQUIREMENTS:

  • Thank the person who awarded you on your blog.
  • Link back to the person who awarded you.
  • Select 5 top picks for the award.
  • Inform your top 5 by leaving a comment on their blog.
  • Post the Award on your blog.

And the award goes to….

  1. Curl Rehab
  2. Pure Complex
  3. PassionPerfected
  4. The semi-mad ramblings of a young black writer
  5. Sandpails and Beach Balls List

The Versatile Blog Award

“versatile” term according to The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary: “1: changing or fluctuating readily : variable <a versatile disposition> 2: embracing a variety of subjects, fields, or skills; also: turning with ease from one thing to another…”

THE RULES

These are the rules for the Versatile Blog Awards:

1 – Nominate 15 fellow bloggers.

2 – Inform the bloggers of their nomination.

3 – Share 7 random things about yourself.

4- Thank the blogger who nominated you.

5 – Add the Versatile Blog Award picture on your blog post.

These are a few of my Random things… *sung to the tune of “Favourite Things”*
  1. I am a crier! I cry at everything…this is something that I blame on my mum! The commercial that gets to me the most is the Christmas Foldgers Coffee advert when Peter comes home for Christmas.  OMG…i just went to look at it and the tears are FLOWING!!
  2. I didn’t start drinking coffee until my 4th year of teaching at 3:45pm….omg, that was a stressed out day.
  3. Over this Winter Break I was the ONLY teacher at the school for 5 day before Christmas and 3 days after.
  4. I keep white board dry erase markers in my bathroom to write reminders to myself on the mirror
  5. I LOVE Milo!!!!  It’s a Jamaican chocolate beverage…
  6. I keep my phone on 24/7 just in case my students or their parents need to call me. BTW I have had a student to call me at 11:00 pm “just to talk”.
  7. I am Jamaican American.  1st generation American at that.
And the Versatile Blog Award goes to….

I hope you enjoy these blogs as much as I do! And a big CONGRATULATIONS to all of the award winners.

Thanks again to Storm Rider for my nomination of both the Liebster Blog Award and Versatile Blogger Award 

8 thoughts on “A Christmas Surprise

  1. Pingback: The Raven Haired Diaries Receives an Award! | The Raven Haired Woman

  2. I share two of your seven (the phone and the white board markers in the bathroom), and while I don’t cry at EVERYTHING, I am known for a tendency toward sensitivity (and if there’s going to be crying at graduation ceremonies, the kids know it’s going to be Mrs. Chili).

    Thanks for the award. I shall endeavor to reciprocate!

  3. Wow! Thank you SO much for the award! It really is a special honor to be presented with something like this. Thanks for remembering us as you made out this list! It’s really come along at a good time, as Greg and I are getting geared up for a lot of new things over at our blog! Keep following!
    -Shane
    Communicative Ed

Leave a Reply

